Chilly Weather Calls for Chili

 

20140327-145814.jpg

I looked out my window this morning and nearly cried. It is March 23 and the snow is still coming. I’m so over this; I want warmth.

Since I can’t change the weather, I took it upon myself to turn up the kitchen temperature. Tonight I made my (semi) famous turkey chili – a hit among the residents of Landon Hall. As far as red chilis go, I’m pretty convinced that mine is the best.

So here’s my recipe. You’re gonna want this for future cold days, I promise.

20140327-145802.jpg

  • 2 cans of Dark red kidney beans
  • 1 can of regular kidney beans
  • 1 can of black beans
  • 2 cans of petite diced tomatoes
  • 1 medium sized spanish onion, diced
  • 2 large poblano peppers, chopped
  • 4 sorrano peppers, chopped
  • 2 red bell petters, chopped
  • 6 cloves of garlic, diced
  • 1 pound of ground turkey
  • ⅓ cup of Mexican Chili powder
  • 3 tbsp cumin
  • 4 bay leaves

I must warn you that these measurements are totally arbitrary and I very rarely follow my own recipe. I prefer to cook by taste. As long as there are a ton of beans, peppers, and a ton of heat, I’d say the chili is successful. Just roll with it.

You know what the best part about chili is? You can just throw bunch of stuff in a pot any let it sit there. It’s a great recipe for lazy people when they need to feed an entire army of college-aged men boys.

So first off, you’re gonna need a can opener. If you have my luck, you’ll have had two stolen this year already and you’ll have to buy a crappy, overpriced one from Wegmans (no offense to Wegmans…Oh God, never).

Literally dump the beans and tomatoes into a large pot on medium heat. Throw in some chili powder and cumin. Let it sit.

Chop up your onion and garlic first (your hands will smell like my Italian great-grandmother’s kitchen after this and will continue to for the next 3 days. Plan accordingly. Throw the onion and garlic into the pot. Stir occasionally.

Next you’ll want to add the peppers. Start with the mildest pepper and progress to the hottest. This way you won’t want to amputate your hands until about 20 minutes later.

In a separate pan cook the ground turkey on medium-high. toss the meat in cumin while it cooks so the meat will carry more flavor.

Throw everything else in, cover the pot, and wait about 10 minutes until the onions are soft and the meat turns a darker color from absorbing the juices from the other ingredients.

Then you’re set to go! Serve over rice if you want to be healthy (HA!), or with saltine crackers and sharp cheddar cheese (recommended).

Serves 10 average-sized humans, or 4 large men and a small girl.

Leave a Reply

