So what’s the deal with Klout?

Klout has kind of lost its edge since its launch in 2008. Social media outlets were still budding then and influential figures were starting to make the shift to these networks. Klout assigns you a score between 0 and 100 ranking you on how influential you are across your connected social media platforms. The premise is kinda cool actually, and the company has been in the news recently after changing their format and being bought by Lithium Technologies for $100 million. So that’s why I’m going to talk about it on Monday in class.

Let’s be real, the reason why I’m invested in Klout is because I’m really proud of my score. It’s a 60, and considering Professor Adornato’s score is a 63, I think I’m doing pretty well.

ImageImage

It is said that those with scores over 50 are in the top 20 percent of all social media users. Klout connects to your social networks and measures the amount of interactions you have. This includes favorites, retweets, quotes, likes, comments, endorsements, and what have you. I like to think that my score comes from my influence as a journalist, my use of the class hashtags #ICParkSM, and other elements of professionalism, but in reality it’s probably coming from large amounts of traffic on my bad selfies and pictures of various dogs. Whatever. Sue me.

“Klout Perks” are basically like the rewards you get for having the most gold stars in elementary school. They range anywhere from free magazine subscriptions and business cards (like what I get) to free access to American Airlines’ Lounges and $5 20-piece Chicken McNuggets (how appetizing).

So what’s the controversy here? I’m not going to give away details just yet (because I’m going to present on this stuff), but I promise a follow-up post in the near future. In the meantime, I’ll leave up some links. Draw your own conclusions.

http://www.business2community.com/marketing/lithium-deal-good-news-influence-marketing-0778743

http://mashable.com/2014/02/10/why-klout-had-to-change/

http://www.cio.com/article/747159/Does_Your_Klout_Score_Matter_

Leave a Reply

